1 out of 5, 3 out of 5, LGBT, Uncategorized

Let’s Talk LGBT

When I was growing up, there was no internet. I had to find a subject I was interested in the hard way. By reading and looking for clues. I was fifteen when I found out I didn’t just like boys. Throughout my life, it has evolved into something so much more. I’m old enough that it no longer defines me, and I no longer get the heart thumping when anybody mentions the gay word. That’s not to say that I was never called vile names, or teased and bullied. No. However, I was lucky enough to grow up fearing the worst; that people would say that I was a lesbian. Or whatever the trendy word was at the time. In high school, this was devastating. After high school, I simply laughed and went about my way.

I look at today’s youth and I’m just so damn happy that they have the amount of information at their finger tips. I realize it’s still scary. I realize it’s still dangerous for some, that people are getting killed daily. I am and have been privileged to live in Canada, where the worst is people stop talking to you if they are homophobes. (I’m not speaking for every Canadian. I’m talking about my own personal experience. If there any Canadians out there who have had it worse; my heart goes out to you. And in no way am I trying to belittle or invalidate what you have or are going through.) That being said, today a lot of us know we are NOT alone, that there ARE people like us, and that  YES WE MATTER!!! We have our community that lifts us up, that stands behind us! We have our allies, that are constantly fighting with us, FOR us! Stand strong, and be proud!

(Please note: I dislike labeling myself personally, as I don’t believe I need it. I have the ability to love anybody. That’s all I feel comfortable saying. Thank you for your understanding.)

The first book on the list, is the first ever book that ended up in my hands on the topic. I was twenty-two at the time, and fell in love with the story. After that, I scoured the bookstore for more, and found the second and third on the list. These three are near and dear to my heart. The last two, I have yet to read.

 

595375This groundbreaking book is the story of two teenage girls whose friendship blossoms into love and who, despite pressures from family and school that threaten their relationship, promise to be true to each other and their feelings. The book has been banned from many school libraries and publicly burned in Kansas City.

Of the author and the book, the Margaret A. Edwards Award committee said, “Using a fluid, readable style, Garden opens a window through which readers can find courage to be true to themselves.”

 

 

 

316445._UY475_SS475_Regan’s brother Liam can’t stand the person he is during the day. Like the moon from whom Liam has chosen his female namesake, his true self, Luna, only reveals herself at night. In the secrecy of his basement bedroom Liam transforms himself into the beautiful girl he longs to be, with help from his sister’s clothes and makeup. Now, everything is about to change-Luna is preparing to emerge from her cocoon. But are Liam’s family and friends ready to welcome Luna into their lives? Compelling and provocative, this is an unforgettable novel about a transgender teen’s struggle for self-identity and acceptance.

 

 

220px-Keeping_You_a_Secret_coverWith a steady boyfriend, the position of Student Council President, and a chance to go to an Ivy League college, high school life is just fine for Holland Jaeger. At least it seems to be. But when Cece Goddard comes to school, everything changes. Cece and Holland have undeniable feelings for each other, but how will others react to their developing relationship? This moving love story between two girls is a worthy successor to Nancy Garden’s classic young adult coming out novel, Annie on My Mind. With her characteristic humor and breezy style, Peters has captured the compelling emotions of young love.

 

 

Brokeback_Mountain_Annie_ProulxAnnie Proulx has written some of the most original and brilliant short stories in contemporary literature, and for many readers and reviewers, “Brokeback Mountain” is her masterpiece.

Ennis del Mar and Jack Twist, two ranch hands, come together when they’re working as sheepherder and camp tender one summer on a range above the tree line. At first, sharing an isolated tent, the attraction is casual, inevitable, but something deeper catches them that summer.

Both men work hard, marry, and have kids because that’s what cowboys do. But over the course of many years and frequent separations this relationship becomes the most important thing in their lives, and they do anything they can to preserve it.

The New Yorker won the National Magazine Award for Fiction for its publication of “Brokeback Mountain,” and the story was included in Prize Stories 1998: The O. Henry Awards. In gorgeous and haunting prose, Proulx limns the difficult, dangerous affair between two cowboys that survives everything but the world’s violent intolerance.

 

51erEvChGpL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their difference, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’ mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess.

But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.

 

What are some of the books you’ve read in the LGBT genre? What are some you want others to read?

Leave a Reply

