5 out of 5, Reviews

Review – The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

The Bone Season introduces a compelling heroine and also introduces an extraordinary young writer, with huge ambition and a teeming imagination. Samantha Shannon has created a bold new reality in this riveting debut.

 

It took me several days to get through this book, only because my nephews kept coming over and demanded to play Pokemon Go with me!! I spent any spare time glued to this book.

This was from the library, and it was labelled Sci-Fi/Fantasy. I’m pretty sure this is New Adult, though. Maybe it’s both?

Paige was interesting enough. I did spend most of the time adoring Warden, though. I totally ship these two, and if they don’t become an item I will be disappointed. The characterization of Warden was brilliant. The coldness, the attitude he had towards everybody, and the caring side he had towards 40. It was sweet. Shannon did a brilliant job of building up the story and the development.

The world building was very thorough, though I ended up getting extremely confused between the ‘branded’ names the Reph had for their humans, and their actual names. I was also confused as to what some of the slang words meant, so kept having to refer to the terms at the back of the book. I’m really glad Shannon put those in. I was a bit disappointed as I never figured out it meant when Nick was calling Paige his pet name for her.

I was really hoping that Nashira would die a horrible, nasty death. Alas.

I felt bad for Seb. And my stomach twisted at what happened to Liss, when Julian ended up taking care of her. Man, I really enjoyed reading so much about the world and how deeper and deeper everything seemed to go.

I can rant and rave about this book! It’s a must read! I wish I had found out about this series sooner!!

Overall, I give this book five out of five foxes!

20158506_1948675025414423_462494529_n 20158506_1948675025414423_462494529_n 20158506_1948675025414423_462494529_n 20158506_1948675025414423_462494529_n 20158506_1948675025414423_462494529_n

Leave a Reply

